Is this safe?

Is this safe?

By Gate Keeper [85]

Kudos 0.00 after 0 votes

Vote for this article: Not so good (1/5)Better (2/5)Good (3/5)Great (4/5)Fantastic! (5/5)
I know I'm still a ways off from being published, but I wanted to do some research. I found out that self publishing is not a good idead for me, so scratch that. But I found this website, www.wlwritersagency.com, and it looks good but I don't know if it's safe. What do you guys think?

Kudos 0.00 after 0 votes

Vote for this article: Not so good (1/5)Better (2/5)Good (3/5)Great (4/5)Fantastic! (5/5)

Comments, critiques and replies

TitleByDate
It is totaly safe, we are all nice to each other and if a publisher comes on here and looks at your work,
they might contact you offering deals and stuff like that
Strawberry JAM [16]15/09/2009
oh sorry! i know THIS site is safe, i've been coming here for almost a year. I meant this one i found:
www.wlwritersagency.com
Gate Keeper [85]15/09/2009
I have the same question they have offered to represent me. Are they safe? Does anyone know?
K_rodgers [19]16/09/2009
I've looked at these guys a couple of times, and the blurb looks good, but it strikes me as odd the don't
give any identifiable author names, just first names.  Considering most authors cheerfully acknowedge
their agents in the books, I can't see why anyone would have any objection to their name being on the
website, especially if it linked to the amazon site where you could buy the book.
Ii have a novel near ready to be sent out for submissions, but I think I'll be trying the more tradtional
routes first. I think I'd consider these guys as a fall back only.
Gail Seymour [27]26/09/2009
cool thanks!
Gate Keeper [85]27/09/2009
Here's what editors and preditors said about them:

Writers Book Publishing Agency (aka Writers' Literary Agency & Marketing Company (aka WL Writers Literary
Agency)): Strongly not recommended. A literary agency.

3/18/07 - Here's a new question: If you submitted anything to the Writers' Literary Agency and Marketing
Company, did you get rejected? If so, please let P&E know for we all know that real literary agencies
are very picky. They only select the work they believe they can sell. We'll post the numbers here. Simply
email P&E and tell us you were rejected or not rejected by this agency under any of their many names.
Let's find out just how picky this agency is. Oh, if they represented and actually sold your book, we'd
like to know that too.

As of July 08, two manuscripts have been reported rejected. 
Despite a demand by "Sheriff" Sherry of Writers' Literary Agency & Marketing Company (WLA&MC)
in July 2007, for a confrontation with its critics in the Absolute Write Water Cooler forum, nothing happened.
The critics were on hand, but Sherry wasn't. So much for straight shootin' and straight talk from WLA&MC.

- from this link >> http://anotherealm.com/prededitors/pealw.htm
Grampa Pogi [512]28/09/2009
Stay away, they are a scam, big time. No rep agents will advertise in a google ad.
writer113 [34]18/12/2009
oh and don't listen to the Absolute Write Water Cooler forum, these people shoot down anyone trying to
make a start. But on the other hand, just reading basic info re a publisher or agent can come in handy
from that site. 

Always research any publisher or agent before submitting. 
The Internet and the library are wonderful places.
writer113 [34]18/12/2009

All articles on this website by Gate Keeper are copyright ©Gate Keeper and should not be reproduced without the author's prior written consent. All opinions are the opinions of their respective authors and are not necessarily the opinions of The Writers Circle.